The Asset Hub is a shared data storage service that automatically synchronizes content in between connected machines. It does so for files and folders in
Projectsfor your project folders/files (levels, maps, .uproject)
Commonfor any other files you want to sync across machines
Internalfor internal files - DO NOT EDIT OR DELETE!
...\Pixotope\[Version number]\Synced Config
Lens filesstores the (default) lens files used in the Camera tracking panel
Pixotope XR Calibrationstores calibrated LUTs generated in the Color matching panel
Synced storage panel overview
In SETUP or PRODUCTION views, you can find the Synced storage panel in the Show section. It shows
a list of your changes which are ready to be pushed
a list of all changes ready to be pulled
a list of the individual pulls
a list of previously synced changes
These changes are listed
No changes to push or pull
If there are no local changes to push, and no pre-existing changes to pull, you will see this state:
Local changes to push
Once you make local changes, they will appear in the Your changes to push section, categorised by the type of change.
The project header indicates that you are out of sync and need to push changes.
Changes to pull
If another connected machine makes changes and pushes them, they will appear in the All changes to pull section, categorised by the type of change.
The project header indicates that you are out of sync and need to pull changes.
In this section you can see the individually pushed changes with the option to pull only up to a specific change.
Changes to pull and push
If you have both local changes present and changes available to pull, you can choose the order of operations.
No overlaps between edited files
If there are no overlaps between file edits in the pull and push sections, then the order doesn’t matter.
Files ready to be pulled have been edited locally
If you have been editing a file and someone else pushed edits to the same file before you did, like in the image below, you have 2 options.
Your local files with overlapping changes are renamed adding a
the original files are replaced by the pulled changes
Your changes to push now only contains local files with no overlapping changes
Use this when you want to have the most up-to-date file version, and also keep your edits safe.
If you want to push/share
-pxconflict files, you will have to rename them first as they are ignored by default.
Your local files overwrite the files for all connected machines
Available changes to pull are cleared
Use this when you want your edits to persist.
Don’t worry if you realise the previous version was better. To undo it, go to the Show Settings panel, and click Revert last change.
All available operations
Open Folder Location
Opens a file browser pointing to this folder
Sends any local changes to the Server machine’s cache
Add comment +
Add a comment to clearly track the purpose of the change. The comments will show up in the change lists.
Retrieves the latest changes from the Server machine’s cache
While Pull changes only gets newly pushed changes, Force pull syncs your local machine to exactly match the Server machine’s cache.
Conflicting local files get a pxconflict postfix and will NOT be deleted.
Useful when changing servers.
A destructive operation that syncs your local machine to exactly match the Server machine’s cache, deleting local data that does not match.
Conflicting local files will be deleted!
Automatically pulls changes as they become available from the Server machine’s cache
Scans all relevant folders for new local changes or available pulls.
For larger folders, this could take a while.
Individual Pulls >
Pulls only the changes up to a specific version, instead of all changes.
Previously Synced >
Reverts the project on this machine to the state it had at that specific point in time.
Syncing other files
This folder is automatically setup when installing Pixotope. Use it to share useful content during productions.
All of the behaviour documented above for syncing projects carries over to the Common folder as well. Auto-pull is on by default.
This folder is different from the Projects and Common folders in that it exists inside the installation folder, making it unique per installation.
All of the behaviour documented above for syncing projects carries over to the Synced Config folder as well. Auto-pull is on by default.
Set up synced projects
For a new show
For an existing show
Manually move or copy the desired project folder into the
If the desired project is already linked, Go to SETUP > Show > Launch, and click "Open folder location" icon in the project’s header to find the folder faster
Go to SETUP > Show > Show Settings
Click "Add project link" or "Edit project path" in the Linked projects table
Select the desired project from the
Saved are ignored by default. Also any file with
-pxconflict is also ignored by default.
Learn more about Ignored files/folders
User on machine A
makes changes and pushes them
Machine B and C which have Auto-pull on
automatically pull these changes
User on machine D
pulls these changes
Levels should be closed while syncing.
In the Launch panel each synced project has
an Open folder location button
a button to Push changes - this sends any local changes to the Server machine’s cache
a button to Pull changes - this gets the latest changes from the Server machine’s cache
a toggle to Auto-pull - this will automatically pull changes as they become available from the Server machine’s cache
Initial push of the project
Click the "Push changes" button in the Launch panel
The project is first optimized for syncing and then pushed to the server machine
Syncing (Push/Pull) is done per project.
Pull the project/changes
After the push is done and the syncing to the server has finished, connected machines can now pull the project into their
Synced Storage/Projects folder. Until they do, they will be/show Out of sync.
Click the "Pull changes" button in the Launch panel
Enable "Auto-pull" to automatically pull new changes
To avoid conflicts, Auto-pull is switched OFF, when launching a level in EDITOR.
Make changes to files
Edit your project files as needed
Don’t forget to save!
Click on "Push changes" when you're ready to share
Other machines can manually pull or automatically receive these changes after they have been pushed
Reverting the last change
Have you accidentally pushed/pulled a change which contained issues? Using Revert last change let’s you undo the last change locally.
Go to SETUP > Show > Show settings > Linked projects
Click "Revert last change" in the overflow menu on the right
The local project state is reverted to the last one
If you are happy with this state, then push the changes
In case it says No changes to push, please make a small/dummy change and try again.
Sync adjustment files across machines
By default, adjustment files are ignored when syncing to allow individual adjustments per machine. In case you want to sync adjustments to all machines:
Create the following
.pxignorefile in your project folder before you make individual changes
This way adjustment files will be synced across machines.
Editing the same file(s) simultaneously
If different machines are editing the same file and then
the version from the one which pushes last will persist
the local file will be renamed
[File name]-pxconflict_[date]_[time].[File extension]
The Asset Hub cache lives on the server machine. It holds
the cache of the files
In case the changelog of the Asset Hub cache does not correspond to the one of the connected machines, pushing or pulling changes will result in an error due to a mismatch of their "history".
To resolve this error:
Ctrland click the "Force pull changes" button in the Launch panel
Start with a clean slate
In case one of the machines is out of sync and you want to ignore any conflicts and start with a clean slate
On the machine which has the most up-to-date version:
Click "Push changes"
On the machine which is out of sync:
Go to SETUP > Show > Show settings > Linked projects
Click on the overflow menu of the project you want to sync
Click "Hard reset and pull (Destructive)"